Go Where He Takes You

When we become believers, we can no longer sit on our rears and complain about things we see in the world.

Ever since I rededicated myself to the Lord, I have wanted to be the type of person when He asks for someone to do something, I step up.  Been doing alright with it thus far, and I say that not out of conceit, but because I always feel I could be doing more for Him.

Isaiah 6:7-8

And he touched my mouth with it, and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips;
Your iniquity is taken away, And your sin purged.”  Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, And who will go for Us?”  Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”
These verses are a pivotal moment for the prophet Isaiah.  It is at this moment he is called to be a prophet.  And he steps up.  Notice how it happens though, first his sin had to be purged, then he was allowed to be a prophet.
But once that was done, he jumped up the minute the Lord called for volunteers.  As believers that is what we need to be doing.  The first step was already completed when we accepted Christ.  Our sin past, present and future has now been purged.  Now it’s time, when He starts asking for volunteers, for us to be like Isaiah and say “Here am I! Send me.”
There is a great song by Matthew West called “Do Something.”  The first verse goes:
I woke up this morning
Saw a world full of trouble now
Thought, how’d we ever get so far down
How’s it ever gonna turn around
So I turned my eyes to Heaven
I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of
People living in poverty
Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you”
When we become believers, we can no longer sit on our rears and complain about things we see in the world.  If the Lord puts it on our hearts to handle something, then we need to step up and do something about it.  We can be upset or outraged to be sure, but unless we are going to put feet to our faith, to coin a phrase, then we cannot complain about it.  Let’s all take the first step in doing something, let’s say to the Lord, “Here am I. Send me.”

Leave a comment