This is the Lord’s Gym, not Jack Lalanne.

Being in the Word regularly, walking the walk of faith and being accountable are all part of God’s Workout program for the soul.

Do you like to workout?  I do.  This spring it seems my spirit is getting more of a workout than my body.  Every time I get into a steady workout routine, something comes up to interrupt it.  I just can’t seem to get into that flow.  With my study of the Word however, not so much.  I have been getting more of a spiritual workout in the last few months than I have in a while.  How about you?  What’s your spiritual workout been looking like?

Psalm 18:32-34

32 It is God who arms me with strength, And makes my way perfect.  33 He makes my feet like the feet of deer, And sets me on my high places.  34 He teaches my hands to make war, So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
So as you read here, God has the ultimate workout program, complete with cardio and strength training.  You’ll be as fast as the deer described and bend bronze bows.  But much like any workout program, it requires discipline.  Using a very basic workout program as our template, let’s look at how we, as Christians, can maximize the benefits.
First, any nutritionist or dietitian will tell you is eating habits.  You have to get those under control.  What’s good about this program is you get to eat all you want and not gain a pound.  You don’t just read the Word, you consume it, devour it and let it nourish your spiritual body.
Second, cardio training.  The apostle Paul often speaks of running a race with regard to the Christian walk.  There’s your cardio.  Walk the walk, run the race and you will understand what God wants from you faster and with more certainty.  Deer can run at high speeds through forested areas and never hit a tree or fall.  If you walk the walk God has set before you, you can be as sure-footed and as fast as that deer.
Finally, strength training.  If you are doing the above, you are not only improving your spiritual cardio, but your strength as well, but with any strength training you do, you need spotter or partner.  In this case, an accountability partner.  Someone older in the faith whom you can confide in and speak to with regard to questions or trials and tribulations you may be going through.  Someone to pray with you.  Their strength and knowledge will allow you to become stronger.
Now I know today’s entry sounded a lot like an infomercial and maybe even humorous, but that doesn’t make it any less true.  We need spiritual exercise in order to serve the Lord.  We are supposed love the Lord with all our heart, soul and strength, as per Deuteronomy 6:5.  How can we do that if we aren’t exercising spiritually?  Being in the Word regularly, walking the walk of faith and being accountable are all part of God’s Workout program for the soul.

Leave a comment