A Particular Set of Skills

We all just have to trust in Him, bring our worries, concerns or requests to Him and do what He tells us to do.

Hello to all those who follow this blog.  Please forgive me for being neglectful the last two days.  To make amends, I will be doing a triple entry today to account for Friday, Saturday and get us up to date.  I hope you are blessed by at least one of the entries.

Starting from Friday, the reading came from Psalm 62.  This Psalm was written by King David during Absalom’s rebellion, which is covered in 2 Samuel 15-18.  During this time period, David had enemies all around him, but was waiting on the Lord to deliver him.

Psalm 62:9-10

9 Surely men of low degree are a vapor, Men of high degree are a lie; If they are weighed on the scales, They are altogether lighter than vapor.  10 Do not trust in oppression, Nor vainly hope in robbery; If riches increase, Do not set your heart on them.
I remember nine years ago, just after I graduated from St. John’s University with my degree in paralegal studies, essentially the pre-law program at SJU.  I became quite full of myself.  I was going to demand from my boss the pay I deserved, doing the duties I knew I had the skills for or I was going to walk.  My pay did not increase, nor my duties and so I found a new job…which I was subsequently released from around Thanksgiving of that same year.
Now let’s move to last year.  Similar situation, except this time I was in a completely different field, I was with the company for three and a half years without a pay increase for two out of the three.  In addition, I had been asked to work overtime on multiple occasions, travel between two offices and my duties were more suited to my skills.
Did I mention the most important thing?  By the time of the second paragraph, I had rededicated my life to the Lord, prayed and then waited on Him before I did anything.  I didn’t trust in my skill set, my resume, nor in anything I could do.  And by waiting on Him and trusting His leading, I am better off for it.
Today’s reading spoke to me about not counting on what I can do, my degree or people.  We all just have to trust in Him, bring our worries, concerns or requests to Him and do what He tells us to do.  Once you do that, don’t be surprised at what He does.

Leave a Reply

